22/9/15 – Finishing up with a lazy day

Got up earlyish, had a natter to Flick’s mom whilst getting ready, then headed down to the beach again. We spent a good hour or so looking for stuff, but all I could find was more fool’s gold – which has quickly become boring in the sense that it didn’t come from a dinosaur. I did give Kel a lot of laughs though as every time I found something that I thought could be something, I’d show it to Flick, she’d dismiss it as ironstone/flint/fossilised wood and I’d throw it back on the sand. Apparently it looked like I had many strops. It was super windy out, some of the waves managed to soak my jeans even over my wellies and the seaside air makes me feel super drained, as well as making my hair all gross, so I was actually pretty happy to quit this time. I guess being short-sighted doesn’t make me well adapted to hunt for things on the beach anyway.

We did a quick co-op run – snacks for all and Red Bull for me – then came back for lunch. We had curly fries with cheese and onion potato bakes and some Mexican falafel things, which I wasn’t too keen on because of the texture. In between, Flick showed us how she does her waxwork paintings. They’re so pretty – the effects she can do on them are amazing! After that and food, we went into the office and Flick showed us and talked through the props she uses on her tours. Much more exciting than you’re probably thinking as it includes teeth and jaws of a great white shark, a giant vertebrae from an Apatosaurus, the nose of a swordfish and a replica of an Allosaurus claw.

From then, we pretty much spent the rest of the day binge watching more Friends. Jenny’s friend Greg came round in the evening, so the five of us had a few hours of Cards Against Humanity. I won, woohoo! Though is it a victory to be classed as the most inappropriate one? Oh, who am I kidding; of course it is! When Greg left, we moved back downstairs to Jen’s cave to watch a couple more episodes of Chuck, then we had to go pack everything up before bed. Thankfully, we’re an old hand at living out of a suitcase, so our stuff had barely even spread about the room that much.

I was hoping for an uninterrupted night’s sleep to be ready to travel back home in the morning, but since my alarm worked fine and I was able to avoid another migraine, it was time for the dreaded ghost attack I’d been afraid of all visit. Apparently I couldn’t escape untraumatised. Whether you believe in ghosts or not, this is exactly what happened, so take from it what you will. At about six in the morning I could hear somebody stepping around a lot outside our room, then I heard someone clattering about with metal pans in the kitchen, which was opposite our room, and the cats meowing. I first thought nothing of it, as I just assumed somebody was up and in the kitchen early. That was when the drawers in our room started opening and closing. I didn’t see anything, as I kept my eyes shut tight, because obviously things aren’t as scary if you can’t see them, right? Wrong. I was absolutely bricking it, particularly as I could hear the cats meowing even more and I know that animals are meant to be particularly bothered by spirits and such.

Thankfully, the noises soon stopped and I was miraculously able to get back to sleep. But then, before leaving for the ferry, Flick’s mom asked if either of us had got up around six and said that she’d heard the noises too and assumed it was either us or a supernatural ghost. They’re completely used to this kind of thing happening, so none of them were bothered in the slightest. Wish I could say the same, rather than having an absolute freak-out. Let’s see how long it is now before I can sleep properly again.

Though at least that happened on the last night. I was definitely relieved to be getting out of that room. Maybe I’ll have to stay in a nearby hotel next time I visit! Flick and Jenny saw us off onto the ferry, which was sad but also funny, as we were all doing dramatic waving – to the point where we couldn’t see each other anymore. I have two saving graces about having to come home. One is that Flick’s visiting Birmingham in just a few weeks anyway and I get to keep her for at least a whole weekend. The other is that we go to Gran Canaria tomorrow for a week. All inclusive with self serve sangria, fuck yeah! I certainly know how to make the most of my time off work!

Goodbyeeeee!

Goodbyeeeee!

Leave a Reply

