18/9/15 – On the road again

I can’t wait to get on the road again. More of traveling on visitation purposes – this time to see Flick in the Isle of Wight. We originally wanted to get there late tonight, but with Kel finished work at five, we just couldn’t count of making the last ferry at nine with Friday night traffic. It took us well over four hours when we drove to Folkestone and that was much earlier in the day. So we decided beforehand to still travel down and spend the night somewhere more nearby, so we wouldn’t have to get up at ridiculous o’clock for our early morning ferry.

Because I started work at six this morning and took a half hour lunch, rather than an house, I got to finish at two and have time to do a last minute Asda run, get showered and finish up packing. We grabbed food from the chippy when Kel got home, got some money out for the trip – I know the island’s meant to be fairly remote, so I don’t know what the cash machine situation will be like – said bye the oldies and the woofie, loaded up the bags and headed out.

It’s been a while since we’ve done a long road trip and this was also the first the first time that Kel’s drove! Flick pre-warned me that the bumpy roads on the island may not be very nice to my low-down Mazda, so the old Yaris is our transport for this trip. Since I’m still insured on it, we can always share the driving. As Kel was happy to drive down towards the coast, it meant I got to play DJ for the first time ever. We hit my musicals and Disney/Don Bluth playlists. I bet nobody else’s musicals playlist goes from Wicked to Sweeney Todd to “shut your fucking face, uncle fucker”. We did out usual duets, including some new ones from the Swan Princess and J.D. and Turk’s “Guy Love” from Scrubs. Such fun!

The drive took just under two and a half hours. We managed to find our bed and breakfast, the Roebuck, somewhere amongst the back country roads in the dark. It’s a bizarre place. A B’n’B slash pub slash social club slash shop slash house. Since we needed to check out so early in the morning, we were told that breakfast wouldn’t be served then, but that they’d leave packed lunches for us outside our room. So special!

It turned out that we’d booked into spider room, as we immediately found several dotted around the curtains. Thankfully, nothing big. Touch wood. I did manage to throw a sachet of coffee out of the window when trying to dislodge one that was hanging off the handle. Oops. Let’s hope I didn’t hit anybody down below. It’s an odd room – the decor’s colour scheme is like Kel’s bedroom meets the stuff we sell at Homebase. None of the carpets line up with the walls properly though, so let’s just hope those gaps aren’t a haven for more spiders. Think this may have to be one of those rooms where we keep all our luggage on the tables, like we did in the Appalachian Mountains. Ah, memories.

Brought my last bottle of Stowford Press with me, so I had that in the room whilst Kel had a quick shower. Praise the keyring bottle opener that lives in my makeup bag. Our rule of thumb with hotel rooms is that I don’t like sleeping in the bed closest to the door and/or window, whereas I think Kel prefers it, so we followed that as per usual. It turned out I’d lucked out with that, because my bed was soft as anything and Kel’s was horrible and springy. Win!

We decided to hit the hat at a reasonable-ish time because of our early start in the morning, but that was very much ruined by the karaoke that started up at the social club, which sounded like it was right outside our window. It was so loud that not only could you hear exactly what songs they were singing, you could also hear just how bad they were. Of course we were giggling in bed over some of the silly pisspot music, but this wasn’t exactly what I’d signed up for. My packed lunch had best be good now!

Leave a Reply

