10/5/15 – Our ideal kind of lazy day

We had a lazier start this morning, which worked out well as Kel didn’t get up till midday. We’d decided to skip breakfast this time as it would mean we would have only got about six hours sleep. I got up about half ten, compensated by eating some popcorn and watched an episode of Fullmetal, then I showered whilst Kel was still asleep. She woke up after just in time for me to dry my hair. Did a little bit of writing in between getting ready, then we made our way down to Emi’s apartment block for one o’clock. Emi’s mom Tamara had insisted on cooking lunch for us all. Her dad Konstantin and her younger sister Iliana, who now lives with her husband, joined us too.

We all sat round the little table in Emi’s room, which was cute, if a little awkward.I always find sit-down meals with people I don’t know mildly uncomfortable, but with the language barrier it was even more awkward. I couldn’t even convey my appreciation of the food properly! Emi mostly mediated. Konstantin doesn’t really understand any English. Tamara knows a little and Iliana apparently knows a fair bit, though doesn’t feel so confident speaking it to actual English people. She did have one moment thought where Emi was saying that I was clearly ready for cake and she added in perfect English, “I can see it in your eyes”. Then later on Tamara decided to demonstrate what she’d learnt from her English books and came out with, “I live in the zoo. I’m bimbo.” So cute and funny! I think the whole family’s combined English is just incredible anyway – particularly when Iliana learnt from online gaming and Emi learnt from watching movies and TV shows. Probably the most entertaining way to do it!

The food itself was great, though I quickly learnt that Bulgarians clearly like to serve a lot of things cold that we would normally have hot. It did nothing to hurt the excellent taste though! We had a chicken noodle soup to start and a type of Bulgarian salad that was thankfully put in the middle for everyone to help themselves, so I could get away without having any and not look like I was leaving anything on my plate. I am a no salad zone. After that was mash, pork steak with onions and a type of herby meat patty thing that was really, really tasty. Best of all though was the cake. It was triple layered with lots of cream, mascarpone, blackcurrants, strawberries, kiwi and banana. I don’t even like banana but it was really incredible. The sponge was just so soft and sooo good! I had some really nice cherry juice to go with everything too.

The rest of the family went off to do their own thing after food, whilst we stayed in Emi’s room to chill. Oh, I totally need a job working for Red Bull. Emi gets the best perks – she just had loads of free Red Bull in her fridge!She then doesn’t drink it because she doesn’t drink fizzy drinks, so it all got donated to me, including the various flavoured ones. Woohoo! I had a cranberry and an original in quick succession, then we started on nails.

Nails with Emi always takes a very long time as she’s such a professional. By long time I mean around five or so hours for the both of us. Not that it’s boring of course. It’s us – we can always find inane chatter to fill the time with. I got into trouble because I kept moving and then me and Kel kept making each other laugh. Hey, we were the good kids in school – we need to act out at some point in life. Whilst Emi was working I unleashed my perfect brainteaser on them that I came up with before. You have to hum/whistle/du-du-du the theme tunes to Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Superman and the A Team in turn, in that order. It’s perfect because it’s movie related and I can actually do it myself, but it seems to stump everyone else.

Emi finished off my amazingly perfect Harley Quinn nails, complete with a “hello puddin'” on my ring finger, and we sat back for more chill time. Of course I was the only one hungry again, so Tamara nicely heated up some more of the mash and meat patties for me. We then all had more cake. God, I really do love that cake. We talked more film stuff, as we do, then watched some of Men At Arms and saw them build an incredible Hylian shield! Want! Then they joined up with a Super Fans team to make a set of Final Fantasy kitchen knives. Sheer awesomeness.

We’d been quite horrified whilst we were there to hear it start raining, thundering and lightning-ing. Especially when it had been so lovely on the walk down – more shorts and tank tops weather and not even muggy this time! Thankfully it had died down and the thunder and lightning had stopped by the time we were leaving, though we still had to loan a brolley from Emi. Sharing a brolley only works completely if you’re sharing with someone who’s the same height. Otherwise you get one person getting rained on more and/or one person getting hit in the head, which was obviously what happened with us. We also had the added fun of having to jump some giant puddles in our very non-waterproof shoes.

When we got back I broke open one of my cherry Carlings that I bought yesterday – home away from home and it only cost the equivalent of about 50p! Watched another episode of Fullmetal (oh Hughes, you really break my heart), did some more writing and we both marveled over some pictures online of Kenan and Kel in the present day. Kel actually grew up to be really attractive! Damn. Wound down for bed from there. I don’t think I can hack skipping free breakfast two days in a row!

Hello puddin'!

Hello puddin’!

Leave a Reply

